1004 9th Avenue North
Texas City, Texas 77590
Phone (409) 643-5800
Municipal Court's primary function is to process all Class C Criminal charges filed by the Police Division, Animal Control, Fire Marshals and Code Enforcement Officers alleged to have occurred within the territorial limits of the City of Texas City. These include charges filed under the Texas Transportation Code, Penal Code, Alcoholic Beverage Code, Health and Safety Code, Education Code and Texas City Code of Ordinances.
Texas City Municipal Court working hours are Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. (except holidays).
Monday through Friday 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Phone lines are answered between the hours of 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.
Honorable Judge Cooley
Honorable Judge Dunkel
|Municipal Court Supervisor||Tammy Odom|
|Court Coordinator||Ann Hawkins||(409) 643-5842|
|Citation Clerk:||Patsy Proehl||(409) 643-5804|
|Warrant Clerk||Gerri Jones||(409) 643-5841|
|Jail Clerk||Anita Cook||(409) 643-5802|
|Deferral/JUV Clerk||Connie Hayley||(409) 643-5805|
|Court Clerk||Nelda Kerr||(409) 643-5800|
Texas City Municipal Court of Record accepts online payments. If you wish to pay your citation in full or make a payment to your pre-existing payment, you may log onto Municipal Online Payments and make a payment with your credit card or debit card.
Payments may also be made in person or by mail. We except cash, money orders, cashier checks, and credit cards (Visa or Mastercard).
Failure to respond and answer citations as required by law may result in any one or several of the following:
Pay the fine and court costs
A plea of guilty or no contest is required. This finalizes the case and no pre-trial or court appearance is needed. A conviction may appear on your driving record.
Request payment arrangement
A plea of guilty or no contest is required. You may request a payment arrangement but must have a 100 down then 100 month until paid in full. A State fee of 25 will be added to each violation. (One-time fee)
Complete a driver safety course
You must come to the court to request this. You will need a driver's license and insurance with your name on it. You may not take DSC if you hold a CDL, going 25 mph over the speed limit, passing a school bus when loading or unloading children, in a work zone with workers present, leaving a scene of an accident after causing serious damage and leaving a scene of an accident with out stopping to render aid and giving information.
Payment is required upon requesting the driver safety course.
Request deferred disposition
A plea of guilty or no contest is required. The Court may, in its sole discretion, defer disposition of your case. This procedure involves your payment of a special expense fee, which will be deposited into a bond account. The court will defer a finding of guiltor no contest assess the applicable court cost and order you to comply with certain conditions.
If you successfully comply with the terms, your case will be dismissed and the bond will be applied to the special expense fee. Normally, the only condition imposed by the court will be that you receive no additional citations for a period of 90 to 180 days.
Payment is required at the time the deferred disposition is granted.
Contest the charge
If you wish to plead not guilty and wish to contest your charge you will be set on an arraignment date and enter in a not guilty plea to the Prosecutor. Then a new court date will be set. (Must be done in person.)
All juveniles (under the age of 17) must be seen by the judge. A court date will be mailed to the address on the citation.
Failure to pay fines will result in a warrant.
Requesting a record of your trial proceedings
If you would like a record of your trial proceeding, you must request a copy of the audio transcript prior to trial. A copy of the audio transcript is $25 and must be paid at the time of your request.
Last Modified: 09/15/2014
© 2013 City of Texas City — An All-America City. All Rights Reserved.
1801 9th Avenue North | P.O. Box 2608 | Texas City, Texas 77592-2608 | Phone: (409) 948-3111